not really but it is SVG day at Clear Dollar Stamps and guess what the Card Cut File is full of?? Yep, that’s right FRUIT!

All 3 fruit in the SVG June Card Cut File

As some of you know I don’t like to do the typical thing with a card or image so when I first saw these I thought “hmmmm, how can I make these different”. For example I didn’t want to do just an apple card

Apple SVG file (outside of card)

Apple SVG file (inside of card)

but I did one! I like it and thought it worked perfectly with this quote. But I also asked if I could use these files to paper piece items on cards and Lori (the owner of Clear Dollar Stamps) said, “whatever you are inspired to do, do it.” Got to love freedom in creativity. I was making stuff for VBS which is a farm/fruit of the spirit theme and came up with these

VBS signs hanging up at church

I also used the new Vegetable Garden Outlines Digital Stamps that came out last week. I just ran the cardstock through my printer and printed the image right on to it. Then I would cut out each section I needed and then paper piece it together! After the signs were made up I took them to FedEx Office so they could be laminated. Didn’t the ladies do a great job of decorating “Aunt Opal’s Kitchen”!

I then decided to paper piece an apple for a card that could be used as a thank you card for a volunteer of VBS, a Sunday School Teacher or a regular school teacher.

SVG apple file as a paper piece

Speaking of school I thought these images would make cute valentine cards. I laminated mine for fun.

Fruit Valentines Cards (front)

Fruit Valentines Cards (back)

So as you tell a file I thought I would have a hard time coming up with stuff didn’t turn out to be so hard. Once the ideals started flowing it turned into a day of making fruit inspired cards!

Smallest Seed card (outside)

Smallest Seed card (inside)

I thought this quote would work perfectly inside an orange slice shaped card!

Pear Card (outside)

Pear card (inside)

Then I thought instead of putting the pear image on a card that I would take two pears and make a card in the shape of them. I’m really happy how this one turned out. Doesn’t stand on it’s own very well but it’s cute!

So the card below is actually the first card I made using the images because I got so excited and had to see if it would work. But before I show you the card I have to tell you the story of how this card came about. My husband (Patrick), our roommate (Bryan) and I were sitting at the dinner table when I asked them for help coming up with ideals using the images of an orange slice, apple and pear. Bryan says to have an orange in someone’s mouth. So hashing that out I said how about the card being the shape of head and the orange slice as the mouth. Bryan then came up with the saying to go in the inside of the card. My husband then drew samples of head shaped cards till we found one we liked. He then cut out the eyes and nose for me to place on the finished card. He designed the hair but I actually made it and was pretty proud that I distressed the edges to give it a dirty hair look! So here is the cute card that makes me smile!

Orange SVG file paper pieced

Orange Smile Card (inside)

You just never know what will come out of a house with an artist, computer web designer and a girl that cut and glue images!

Thanks for looking at this long post!!

CHALLENGES:

1) GAB challenge #20 – Anything Summer!

Fruit seemed pretty summer to me! Can’t wait for the peaches to get here!

2) Daring Cardmakers challenge – Let’s Rock! Rocking All Over the World.  This week I’d like you to make a Wobble Card – these are cards which have a curved base so that when you tap them they rock, or wobble from side to side.

3) My Partner in Crafting Crime challenge Challenge #29 Tutti Fruitti! For this weeks challenge we would like you to let your inner ‘fruit cake’ out and have some fun!!  TUTTI FRUITTI

SUPPLIES:

Apple Shaped Card

Stamps/Images: CDSXJuneCCSVGPDF – sentimental fruit apple at www.cleardollarstamps.com
Cardstock/Papers: Bazzill (red, creame, black, green)
Inks/Markers: Canon Inkjet printer
Accents/Tools: Cricut, SCAL, pop dots
Techniques: paper piecing

Size: made to fit in 5 x 7 envelope.

Apple Thank You Card

Stamps/Images: CDSXJuneCCSVGPDF – sentimental fruit apple at www.cleardollarstamps.com
Cardstock/Papers: Bazzill (red, creame, black, green), Creative Imaginations (plaid)
Inks/Markers: Canon Inkjet printer
Accents/Tools: Cricut, SCAL, pop dots, metal “thank you” from JoAnns
Techniques: paper piecing

Size: 5 x 7

Fruit Valentine Cards, Orange Slice Card and Pear Card

Stamps/Images: CDSXJuneCCSvgPdf – Sentimental Fruit Pear, CDSXJuneCCSVGPDF – sentimental fruit apple, CDSXJuneCCSVGPDF – sentimental fruit orange
Cardstock/Papers: Bazzill
Inks/Markers: Canon Inkjet Printer
Accents/Tools: Cricut, SCAL, lamination, xyron 550
Techniques: paper piecing

Pear Card – fits in a 51/4 x 5 1/4 size envelope

Valentine cards – at their tallest point there are about 4 inches.

Orange Slice Card – fits in a 5 x 7 envelope

Orange Smile Card

Stamps/Images: CDSXJuneCCSVGPDF – Orange at www.cleardollarstamps.com
Cardstock/Papers: Bazzill
Inks/Markers: Canon Inkjet
Accents/Tools: Coluzzle, Cricut
Techniques: Shaped card, paper piecing

Size -fits in a 51/4 x 5 1/4 size envelope

