** If you are looking for the Clear Dollar Stamps Blog Hop scroll down to yesterday’s entry. **

Clear Dollar Stamps sure has some talent on their Designer Team. Stacy Morgan is amazing at making templates. She makes them cute and easy….what else could a crafter ask for?!! Thanks Stacy for being so talented and sharing it with us so we can play with such cute paper crafting templates!

So you ready to see one of templates this month? I know you are, so here is the Scripture box template. I turned mine into a gift for a teacher.

Scripture box template at Clear Dollar Stamps

(If you click on the photo you will get a larger photo to see all the details.)

I like to make stuff for someone or something. There was already two samples of Scripture boxes so I got to thinking what else this could be used for. Well, just so happens I have a friend, Nancy, who is a teacher there. She worked in the school for the last 22 years and got a new job last week helping other teachers (still in the school just not teaching). Congratulations Nancy!! Any who, she was telling me how she wants to give teachers little “pick me up” gifts so I told her about all the cool templates at Clear Dollar Stamps. With starting the new job THIS week she doesn’t have time to make any gifts, heck she doesn’t even have time to buy little gifts. That is when this cute little box came to mind. I thought surely that could be turned into some cute gift for a teacher. Then I thought what about “coupons” instead of scripture. I contacted Nancy and asked her if teachers use “coupons” in the classroom. She said, “Yes” because they are great reward for good behavior and they don’t cost the teacher any money (we all know they pay too much out of their own pockets as it is). I wanted to make a sample and this gave it a purpose, so I got to work.

The original box design has the holder on top that is held in place by an embellishment (see Stacy’s example or Lisa’s example). I just didn’t like anything I placed there and the more I thought about it the image wouldn’t be placed on the box everyday like a scripture would. So I made my piece a little longer and folded it underneath to make a triangle that stood on it’s own. I downloaded a outline of an apple from the internet and printed it off on colored paper. Paper pieced the apple together and decided it needed to have the teacher’s name on it. So I contacted Nancy again and asked her for a teacher’s name that she thought could/would use coupons. She got all excited and said Ms. Dunbar would LOVE coupons. So this will be mailed to Nancy to give to Ms. Dunbar. So if you know Ms. Dunbar don’t tell her as we want it a surprise!! Nancy and I came up with several coupon ideals and I made 2 of each in different colors. I used one of the scripture card templates that is provided in the Scripture Template File. I figured these would be used several times so I laminated the color sheet and stuck it on a black mat. (I have tons of Xyron Laminate/Permanent adhesive because I kept buying the wrong stuff!!….which was good because it was perfect for this!)

This template was soooooo EASY! And I LOVED that is was a normal size box…not a miniature box. As you can see the coupons are big (over 4 inches) and fit inside easily. The other cute template she made this month is a Hot Air Balloon template.  Be sure to check it out as I’m sure it would make a cute gift too or a decoration for a party….oh like a baby shower!

Thanks for stopping by today! Oh and if you missed the Clear Dollar Stamps Blog Hop yesterday you STILL HAVE TIME to get in on it! By leaving comments on each blog you have a chance at being one of the lucky winners (there will be 2 winners) that will each receive a $10 gift certificate for the CDS store for purchase of clear or digital stamps ONLY. The Winners will be randomly chosen from comments received on two DT member blogs. Winners will be announced on the Clear Dollar Stamps blog Thursday, August 25, 2011.

CHALLENGES:

1) Penny’s Paper-Crafty Challenge Blog- Challenge #60– Back to School.

2) Paper Playtime –  Challenge #53 – Anything Goes

3) Inspire me Fridays – link your project!

SUPPLIES:

Stamps/Images: CDSSMScriptureBox @ www.cleardollarstamps.com , Apple outline image from the web
Cardstock/Papers: Bazzill cardstock, Patterned Paper Provocraft (Pink dots Christina Cole)
Inks/Markers: Canon inkjet printer
Accents/Tools: SCAL, Cricut, Card (coupon) template from CDSSMScriptureBox, pop dots, Xyron 550 – laminate,
Techniques: 3d papercrafting

