I decided after making canvas pieces for an art class I’m giving at a retirement home I would make it into a card. So I masked the snowman and flakes then painted on top. Removed the mask and I was left with the white images. I added to the snowman (hat, noes, eyes and buttons) and the torn paper on the bottom.

Here are the canvas pieces I made as a sample. I wanted to do shapes more than just one big snowflake as was shown in the inspiration piece. So first I punched the snowflakes out of white paper then ran them through the xyron to make it a sticker. For the snowman I used circles and made them a sticker too. As you can see there was a lot of bleeding under the image.

So on this next canvas decided to use vinyl and it worked perfectly!

I got the idea for the canvas at http://tenkidsandadog.blogspot.com/2010.01.preschool-snowflake-masterpiece.html

CHALLENGES:

1) August Card Challenge @ scrapbook.com  – Product category – paint. I hardly use paint and NEVER mask but since I tried it on a canvas I thought it would also make a cute card for the challenge. Thanks for the inspiration.

2) Card Makin Mamastry something new to you!  whether it is a new technique, a new style, or a new project type. YES I said project type.
FOR THIS CHALLENGE ONLY, WE ARE OPENING IT UP TO ALL TYPES OF CREATIONS (NOT JUST CARDS).   Masking is new to me! I just don’t do it and I don’t use paint either very often. Also never made a canvas art piece.

