Helen at For Fun Challenges pulled out a challenge for me this week! She challenged us to make anything that was inspired by Australia. Well, I want to go there so learning about is as close as I will get right now! I didn’t want to do the Kangaroo or Kola because I like to be different and I didn’t have any stamps that would work. So I started looking up facts about Australia. I learned the following:

Australia’s national floral emblem is the golden wattle (Acacia pycnantha Benth.). On August 19th, 1988 the Governor-General, the Rt Hon Sir Ninian M Stephen AK GCMG GCVO KBE, proclaimed the golden wattle as Australia’s national floral emblem. National Wattle Day is the first day of September.

I also thought about doing something with a crocodile on it but I will save that for another day! I also saw that the Australia Open is going on this week.  I decide to look for images of the Golden Wattle. I found one digital image that was free at JJDezignz.  I thought it would be perfect for a masculine sympathy card since it wasn’t a girly looking flower. What do you think….does it work for masculine or should I stick giving it to females since it has a flower on it?

Wattle Sympathy Card

I hope you take the challenge and push yourself to create a card inspired by Australia! I love how my card turned out….thanks for the push Helen.

CHALLENGES:

1) For Fun Challenge – inspired by Australia

SUPPLIES:

Stamp: Golden Wattle @ jjdezignz

Cardstock: Bazzill

Patterned Paper: Basic Grey

Accents/Tools: Martha Stewart border punch, brad, ribbon, pop dots, scor-tape

