Dino Valentine Cards

1 Comment

dino-across-the-miles-valentines

My Godparents sent an email that their grandson’s teacher sent out. She asked for Valentine cards to be sent to the child at school so they could learn about different places in the world. So I asked what he likes being 6 yoa and in 1st grade and was told dinosaurs, Pokemon and Star Wars. Mary Ellen drew some cute dinosaurs at Free Dearie Dolls Digi Stamps so I used one of them. I decided for the squares to use small version of the states that the card was coming from (Missouri) and going to (California). I used MOJOMonday #482 sketch but instead of a circle inside I went with a jagged edge square.

See next post for card without maps.

CHALLENGES:
1) Feb Card Sketch Challenge @ Scrapbook.com – sketch #2.
2) Feb Inspirational Card Challenge – theme – love.

SUPPLIES:
Cardstock: Bazzill (Lava, Evening surf, Pansy)
Images: free maps on internet, Valentine Boy T-rex @ Free Dearie Dolls Digital Images.
Accents/Tools: Cricut, Elegant Edges Cricut Cartridge, cutter bee scissors, EK Success 1/16 pop dots

dino-valentine

Inside:
Hope your
Valentine’s Day
is Dino-mite!

Since the dino is so cute and funny I decided he needed to be sent to my guy friend, Dale. I try to send Dale a card for each of the holidays…who doesn’t need happy mail?!!

So I apparently put my paper in wrong in the embossing folder because the textured side go the indent embossing (not sure what that is called) so I decided to use it! I thought it worked great with getting the love/valentine theme across without being a lovey dovey card! I hope the dino makes him smile like it makes me!

CHALLENGES:
1) Feb Card Sketch Challenge @ Scrapbook.com – sketch #2. MOJOMonday #482
2) Feb Inspirational Card Challenge – theme – love.

SUPPLIES:
Cardstock: Bazzill (Lava, Evening surf, Pansy)
Images: Valentine Boy T-rex @ Free Dearie Dolls Digital Images.
Accents/Tools: Cricut, Elegant Edges Cricut Cartridge, cutter bee scissors, EK Success 1/16 pop dots, Taylored Expressions Swiss Hearts Embossing folder


Sympathy Bird

1 Comment

sympathy-brown-gold-bird

I needed a sympathy card for a lady at work. I just used some stickers from this package so I thought that the bird would make a good sympathy card. So I looked through my sketches and liked the sketch picked for the Feb Inspirational Card Challenge @ scrapbook.com. I went through all my scraps and just couldn’t find anything that worked so I would to my closet full of paper racks. I pulled out my brand new DCWV Violet Leaf paper pack and it had paper with gold foil on it!! It was perfect…thank you Flutterbye0419 for telling me I NEEDED this paper pack last month!! And this is what came together when I combined my supplies and sketch! I was pretty pleased with it…different then what I normally do but I like it!

Feb Inspirational Card Challenge – sketch Category. Original sketch – Cardabilities #114.

SUPPLIES:
Cardstock: Bazzill (Java)
Patterned Paper: Shiny Gold from Hobby Lobby, DCWV Violet Leaf Stack
Accents/Tools: Sizzix Framelits Dotted Circles, stickers from Hobby Lobby, Xyron 510

Kissy Fish

1 Comment

kissing-fish

So I had been trying to think how to make the “baby and momma valentine card” into one that could be given to a husband from a wife only. So I came up with this Kissing Fish version! I used water color design paper from Michael’s to make the fish and the background. Love paper that lets me cheat cause I can’t make my own water color paper…doesn’t turn out as good! I used the same Tuesday Morning Sketch #388 as my inspiration.

Feb Card Inspiration Challenge @ Scrapbook.com – theme category – Love.

4 Crafty Chicks #337 – Love

SUPPLIES:
Digital Image: Kissy Fish @ Crooked Little Studio
Cardstock: Bazzill (Bahama)
Patterned Paper: Recollections (Color Splash 6 x 6 paper pad)
Technique: printed the digital image on colored paper and cut them out
Accents/Tools: Twine, computer, Xyron X, heart punch

Save